What could be better than hearing your favorite bands at gorgeous Gulf Shores at Hang Out Fest? This beachfront festival has been a local institution since 2010 and regularly draws some of the biggest musicians in the world. This year, fans will land from May 15 to 17 and enjoy sets from legends like the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Post Malone and Lana del Ray.
Drivers can find themselves arrested in Alabama either with measured blood alcohol concentration above 0.08% or because of obvious impairment. For drivers with a commercial license, the legal BAC threshold is 0.04%. If you are younger than 21, you can get a DUI with BAC above 0.02%.
You can get a DUI in Alabama even when your car is not moving. If you are in the driver’s seat, Alabama law considers you to be in “actual physical control” of the car.
For a first DUI offense, the driver could receive up to a year in jail, a 90-day license suspension and fines of $600 to $2,100. After you get your license back, you must use an ignition interlock device for 90 days at your own cost. Underage drivers who get a DUI receive substance use treatment and a 30-day license suspension.
When you travel to Alabama from another state and get a DUI, the conviction may transfer to your home state. This applies if you have a driver’s license from Tennessee, Mississippi, Florida and Georgia. These states will honor the license suspension from Alabama. In fact, some states may even impose a longer suspension depending on state laws.
Avoid these consequences by hiring a rideshare service during Hang Out Fest. Otherwise, steer clear of alcohol and drugs if you plan to drive in Alabama.